SWAP Leadership

Elections for SWAP leadership positions were held on July 28 at the 2011 Western Alliance Conference in Killeen. We thank the past board members for their service, and welcome those who have accepted the duties and responsibilities of guiding SWAP over the next two years.





Levent Gurdemir

The University of Texas at Arlington

gurdemir (aht) uta (dot) edu



Vice-President & Webmaster:

Torvald Hessel

Executive Director, Austin Planetarium

Thessel (aht) austinplanetarium (dot) org




Linda Irby

lirby (aht) spemail (dot) org



IPS Representative:

Rachel Thompson

The Knoble Planetarium

The Fort Worth Museum of Science and History

rsthompson (aht) fwmsh (dot) org



Board of Directors:


Donna Pierce

HPISD Pierce Planetarium

pierced (aht) hpisd (dot) org


Charles Hemann

Andrews ISD Planetarium


Carolyn Sumners

Burke Baker Planetarium

Houston Museum of Natural Science


Past President:

Cory Stone

The Gene Roddenberry Planetarium

originalskyguy (aht) gmail (dot) com